esports

The Overwatch Open Regional Playoffs Start August 24th, 2016

Overwatch has become one of the premier competitive first-person shooters of 2016 in just three short months.

The highly anticipated Overwatch Open regional playoffs kick off tomorrow, August 24th 2016. 16 teams from North America and Europe will battle it out for a chance to qualify for the finals.

European Teams

Misfits
Rogue
REUNITED
Luminosity Gaming
Team Dignitas
Ninjas in Pyjamas
ANOX
FaZe
Melty
Prets
Bringos
OWKings
NNY
bfly
The Gatekeepers
BBE

North American Teams
EnVyUs
Cloud9
Fnatic
compLexity Gaming
NRG eSports
Team Liquid
Sodipop
Splyce
Selfless
Colorado Clutch
Sea Algae
Method
Northern Gaming
Geckofox
MONO
I’m Your Huckleberry

Sixteen teams from each region will be seeded into groups and compete over a week long set of matches for a shot at a stake in the $300,000 prize pool and to compete in the  North American and European Finals at ELEAGUE Arena in Atlanta on September 30th.

The first match kicks off tomorrow at 8:30 AM PST and the tournament will run until August 28th at 10:30 PM PST.

Tenative Schedule –

Group A - Wednesday August 24th, 2016
18:30 BST / 13:30 EDT Europe – Misfits vs Bikini – UB Semi (BO3)
20:00 BST / 15:00 EDT Europe – Melty vs ANOX – UB Semi (BO3)
21:30 BST / 16:30 EDT Europe – TBD vs TBD – UB Finals (BO3)
00:00 BST / 19:00 EDT NA – NV vs HuckleBerry – UB Semi (BO3)
01:30 BST / 20:30 EDT NA – Selfless vs Splyce – UB Semi (BO3)
03:00 BST / 22:00 EDT NA – TBD vs TBD – UB Finals (BO3)
Group A - Thursday August 25th, 2016
17:00 BST / 12:00 EDT – Europe – TBD vs TBD – LB Round 1 (BO3)
18:30 BST / 13:30 EDT – Europe – TBD vs TBD – LB Finals (BO3)
00:00 BST / 19:00 EDT – NA – TBD vs TBD – LB Round 1 (BO3)
01:30 BST / 20:30 EDT – NA – TBD vs TBD – LB Finals (BO3)
Group B - Thusday August 25th, 2016
20:00 BST / 15:00 EDT – Europe – Rogue vs GK – UB Semi (BO3)
21:30 BST / 16:30 EDT – Europe – Prets vs FaZe – UB Semi (BO3)
03:00 BST / 22:00 EDT – NA – C9 vs Mono – UB Semi (BO3)
04:30 BST / 23:30 EDT – NA – Sea Algae vs SodiPop – UB Semi (BO3)
Group B - Friday August 26th, 2016
18:30 BST / 13:30 EDT – Europe – TBD vs TBD – UB Finals (BO3)
20:00 BST / 15:00 EDT – Europe – TBD vs TBD – LB Round 1 (BO3)
21:30 BST / 16:30 EDT – Europe – TBD vs TBD – LB Finals (BO3)
00:00 BST / 19:00 EDT – NA – TBD vs TBD – UB Finals (BO3)
01:30 BST / 20:30 EDT – NA – TBD vs TBD – LB Round 1 (BO3)
03:00 BST / 22:00 EDT – NA – TBD vs TBD – LB Finals (BO3)
Group C - Saturday August 27th, 2016
15:00 BST / 10:00 EDT – Europe – Reunited vs Bfly – UB Semi (BO3)
16:30 BST / 11:30 EDT – Europe – Bringos vs NIP – UB Semi (BO3)
18:00 BST / 13:00 EDT – Europe – TBD vs TBD – UB Finals (BO3)
19:30 BST / 14:30 EDT – Europe – TBD vs TBD – LB Round 1 (BO3)
21:00 BST / 16:00 EDT – Europe – TBD vs TBD – LB Finals (BO3)
23:00 BST / 17:00 EDT – NA – FNC vs Gecko – UB Semi (BO3)
00:30 BST / 18:30 EDT – NA – Clutch vs TL – UB Semi (BO3)
02:00 BST / 20:00 EDT – NA – TBD vs TBD – UB Finals (BO3)
03:30 BST / 21:30 EDT – NA – TBD vs TBD – LB Round 1 (BO3)
05:00 BST / 23:00 EDT – NA – TBD vs TBD – LB Finals (BO3)
Group D - Sunday August 28th, 2016
15:00 BST / 10:00 EDT – Europe – LG vs NNY – UB Semi (BO3)
16:30 BST / 11:30 EDT – Europe – OWK vs Dignatas – UB Semi (BO3)
18:00 BST / 13:00 EDT – Europe – TBD vs TBD – UB Finals (BO3)
19:30 BST / 14:30 EDT – Europe – TBD vs. TBD – LB Round 1 (BO3)
21:00 BST / 16:00 EDT – Europe – TBD vs. TBD – LB Finals (BO3)
23:00 BST / 17:00 EDT – NA – COL vs NG – UB Semi (BO3)
00:30 BST / 18:30 EDT – NA – Method vs NRG – UB Semi (BO3)
02:00 BST / 20:00 EDT – NA – TBD vs TBD – UB Finals (BO3)
03:30 BST / 21:30 EDT – NA – TBD vs TBD – LB Round 1 (BO3)
05:00 BST / 23:00 EDT – NA – TBD vs TBD – LB Finals (BO3)

via Overwatch Open

About the author

Matt

Matt

Content Strategist | Video Game Aficionado | Twitch Channel Enabler | Full Time Student